Award-Winning Dallas-Fort Worth IT Services.

Questions? Call (817) 595-0111
Using the right tools and processes is only part of what is needed to safeguard your company. Your managed security provider must have the knowledge and training necessary to create a fully secure environment. To know your provider has the right expertise and background experience, look for a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP).

When you work with VersaTrust, you are partnering with a CISSP. This is important to us because we want our clients to know we are taking every precaution possible to ensure their business is secure.

What is CISSP

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is widely regarded as the gold standard for cybersecurity certifications and verifies an individual’s capacity and ability to perform in all fields of cybersecurity at the highest levels.

The CISSP and their organization possess the training and experience to understand a company’s strategic business plan, assess risk based on the plan and recommend and apply policies, controls and tools to mitigate risk, while also considering budget requirements.

How a CISSP Keeps Your Business Secure

A CISSP is responsible for the total security protection of a business environment covering the following eight security domains:

  1. Security and risk management (vulnerability management, disaster recovery and business continuity)
  2. Asset security (devices, data, people, physical)
  3. Security architecture and engineering
  4. Communications and network security
  5. Identity and access management
  6. Security assessment and testing
  7. Security operations
  8. Software development security


To qualify to become a CISSP, a candidate must have at least 5 years of verified experience working in information security and be endorsed by another CISSP in good standing.

Candidates must pass a three-hour, 150-question adaptive test. It is known to be one of the most difficult certification exams to pass.

The certification must be maintained over time. Every three years CISSPs must complete 120 hours of continuing education to ensure that the holder stays abreast of current cybersecurity trends and threats.

CISSPs Meets the Department of Defense’s Stringent Requirements

The CISSP certification meets the Department of Defense Information Assurance Certification requirements to hold Information Assurance Technician (IAT) and Information Assurance Manager (IAM) Level III roles, their highest cybersecurity role levels for IAT and IAM.

A CISSP is qualified to evaluate, create and implement a security plan to reduce risk to minimum acceptable levels, and constantly measure and manage risk by protecting data and system Confidentiality, Integrity and Availability.

The breadth and depth of knowledge required for a CISSP ensures they are capable of evaluating businesses of all types, sizes and budgets, and can implement the levels of cybersecurity protection appropriate to each business.

Ready to Work with a CISSP?

At VersaTrust, we know each business is different, with different needs, different budgets and different levels and types of risks. The key is to tailor a security plan appropriate for each business and implement it properly to ensure that business can be done while security risks are reduced appropriately.

Start with a security assessment and then contact a CISSP, like VersaTrust who will walk through the evaluation with you and create a strategy to improve your security profile.

Let’s get started. Call us at (972) 737-5810 or send an email to [email protected] find out more.